Achievers & Accolades

NHCS Names Educators Of The Year

By Christina Haley O'Neal, posted Jun 2, 2020
New Hanover County Schools has named its 2020-2021 district Educators of the Year, according to a news release.

Elizabeth Felts, an English teacher at New Hanover High School, was named the 2020-2021 overall NHCS Educator of the Year.

“As a teacher, I believe my role is to help students see their value and see how they can leverage their talents and strengths to make a positive impact,” Felts said in the release. “While I utilize that philosophy every day, it is most apparent in our midterm project for my Honors Service Learning class. These opportunities for students to see their own value and how they use that to make a positive impact has a ripple effect that I am profoundly grateful to watch unfold far beyond my classroom.”

Other individuals who were named NHCS’s Educators of the Year are: Trevor Todd, at Castle Hayne Elementary; Nuhn Johnson at Holly Shelter Middle School; and Rachel Manning at Snipes Academy of Arts and Design.

“New Hanover County Schools educators are phenomenal,” said Stefanie Adams, a New Hanover County Board of Education member, in the release.

“They have shown their devotion and dedication to the students they serve and, though we can not celebrate them as we have done in the past, the Board of Education wants them all to know how incredibly proud we are of their efforts, not just during this challenging time but always," she said.

The school system's 2020-2021 Teachers of the Year are: 
  • Edwin A. Alderman Elementary School, Tracey Failla
  • Edwin A. Anderson Elementary School, Kristine Eason
  • Eugene Ashley High School, Kristen Seward
  • Heyward C. Bellamy Elementary School, Heidi Ashba
  • John J. Blair Elementary School, Rebecca Linek
  • Bradley Creek Elementary School, Kelly Nisbet
  • Career Readiness Academy at Mosley PLC, Lisa Hadden
  • Carolina Beach Elementary School, Sarah Maurer
  • Castle Hayne Elementary School, Trevor Todd
  • Dr. John Codington Elementary School, Jenny Waldkirch
  • College Park Elementary School, Rachel McCoy
  • College Road Early Childhood Center, Sara Lehman
  • Dr. Hubert Sr. Eaton Elementary School, Jessica Boyd
  • Forest Hills Global Elementary School, Deana Srakovcic
  • Rachel Freeman School of Engineering, Janice Rickey 
  • The International School at Gregory, Katie Galloway
  • John T. Hoggard High School, Annah Pierce
  • Holly Shelter Middle School, Nuhn Johnson
  • Holly Tree Elementary School, Sarah Lancaster
  • Mary W. Howe Early Childhood Center, Dixie Smith
  • Isaac Bear Early College High School, Danielle Talbert
  • Johnson Pre-K Center, Kimberly Bridges
  • Lake Forest Academy, Brian Fields
  • Emsley A. Laney High School, Randi Metz
  • Charles P. Murray Middle School, Laura Hayes
  • Murrayville Elementary School, Suzanne Midgett
  • Myrtle Grove Middle School, Jayme Wood
  • New Hanover High School, Elizabeth Felts
  • M. C. S. Noble Middle School, Leslie Keegan
  • Ogden Elementary School, Caroline Page
  • Walter L. Parsley Elementary School, Breanna Lodato
  • Pine Valley Elementary School, Mallory Neidenthal
  • JC Roe Center, Tarkisha Jones
  • Roland-Grise Middle School, Myisha Hutchinson
  • Southeast Area Technical High School, Christa Tompkins
  • Snipes Academy of Arts and Design, Angela Owen
  • Sunset Park Elementary, Alice Carney
  • Emma B. Trask Middle School, Kimberly Burghardt
  • Mary C. Williams Elementary School, Ashley Pavlick 
  • Williston Middle School, Molly McGowan
  • Wilmington Early College High School, Jamie Troche
  • Winter Park Elementary School, Jessica McQueen
  • Wrightsboro Elementary School, Cindy Laliberty
  • Wrightsville Beach Elementary School, Kim Golder
NHCS's Principal of the Year nominees are:
  • Edwin A. Alderman Elementary School, Kate Tayloe
  • Southeast Area Technical High School, Edith Skipper
  • Snipes Academy of Arts and Design, Rachel Manning
  • Winter Park Elementary School, Paul Slovik
Ico insights


Burrus rob headshot 300x300

Covid-19 Pandemic: Implications For Managers And Human Resources

Robert Burrus - Cameron School of Business - UNC-Wilmington
Chris coudriet

New Hanover County Awards $1.3 Million To 130 Local Small Businesses

Chris Coudriet - New Hanover County Government
Dave sweyer 300 x 300

Security Deposit Tips For Rental Property Owners & Tenants

Dave Sweyer - Sweyer Property Management

Trending News

Fintech Company NCino Boosts Offering, Sets Valuation At More Than $1.9 Billion

Jenny Callison - Jul 7, 2020

From Car Dealers To Restaurants: Local Businesses Receive PPP Loans

Johanna Cano - Jul 7, 2020

Hospital Trustees Back Novant For Negotiations; Outline Possible Spending Plan

Vicky Janowski - Jul 7, 2020

New Eatery Welcomes Diners At Iconic Wrightsville Ave. Spot

Jessica Maurer - Jul 8, 2020

WBD Names First Female Chair, New Board Members

Christina Haley O'Neal - Jul 8, 2020

In The Current Issue

Businesses Continue To Adapt To Times

An update on how businesses that were part of the Working Through It series are still coping as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, starti...

The Financing Issues Driving NHRMC Talk

While stakeholders and the public in New Hanover County may differ on the best path toward a sustainable future for New Hanover Regional Med...

Dosher Memorial Marks 90th Anniversary

Dosher Memorial Hospital in Southport recently commemorated its 90th anniversary. The critical access community hospital opened June 2, 1930...

Book On Business

The 2020 WilmingtonBiz: Book on Business is an annual publication showcasing the Wilmington region as a center of business.

Order Your Copy Today!



2020 Leadership Accelerator: Virtual Workshops for Real Leaders
2019 Health Care Heroes
August 26, 2019 Power Breakfast: A Healthy Sale?
2019 WilmingtonBiz Expo Keynote Lunch - CEO, nCino, Pierre Naude`