Achievers & Accolades

NHCS Names Educators Of The Year

By Christina Haley O'Neal, posted Jun 2, 2020
New Hanover County Schools has named its 2020-2021 district Educators of the Year, according to a news release.

Elizabeth Felts, an English teacher at New Hanover High School, was named the 2020-2021 overall NHCS Educator of the Year.

“As a teacher, I believe my role is to help students see their value and see how they can leverage their talents and strengths to make a positive impact,” Felts said in the release. “While I utilize that philosophy every day, it is most apparent in our midterm project for my Honors Service Learning class. These opportunities for students to see their own value and how they use that to make a positive impact has a ripple effect that I am profoundly grateful to watch unfold far beyond my classroom.”

Other individuals who were named NHCS’s Educators of the Year are: Trevor Todd, at Castle Hayne Elementary; Nuhn Johnson at Holly Shelter Middle School; and Rachel Manning at Snipes Academy of Arts and Design.

“New Hanover County Schools educators are phenomenal,” said Stefanie Adams, a New Hanover County Board of Education member, in the release.

“They have shown their devotion and dedication to the students they serve and, though we can not celebrate them as we have done in the past, the Board of Education wants them all to know how incredibly proud we are of their efforts, not just during this challenging time but always," she said.

The school system's 2020-2021 Teachers of the Year are: 
  • Edwin A. Alderman Elementary School, Tracey Failla
  • Edwin A. Anderson Elementary School, Kristine Eason
  • Eugene Ashley High School, Kristen Seward
  • Heyward C. Bellamy Elementary School, Heidi Ashba
  • John J. Blair Elementary School, Rebecca Linek
  • Bradley Creek Elementary School, Kelly Nisbet
  • Career Readiness Academy at Mosley PLC, Lisa Hadden
  • Carolina Beach Elementary School, Sarah Maurer
  • Castle Hayne Elementary School, Trevor Todd
  • Dr. John Codington Elementary School, Jenny Waldkirch
  • College Park Elementary School, Rachel McCoy
  • College Road Early Childhood Center, Sara Lehman
  • Dr. Hubert Sr. Eaton Elementary School, Jessica Boyd
  • Forest Hills Global Elementary School, Deana Srakovcic
  • Rachel Freeman School of Engineering, Janice Rickey 
  • The International School at Gregory, Katie Galloway
  • John T. Hoggard High School, Annah Pierce
  • Holly Shelter Middle School, Nuhn Johnson
  • Holly Tree Elementary School, Sarah Lancaster
  • Mary W. Howe Early Childhood Center, Dixie Smith
  • Isaac Bear Early College High School, Danielle Talbert
  • Johnson Pre-K Center, Kimberly Bridges
  • Lake Forest Academy, Brian Fields
  • Emsley A. Laney High School, Randi Metz
  • Charles P. Murray Middle School, Laura Hayes
  • Murrayville Elementary School, Suzanne Midgett
  • Myrtle Grove Middle School, Jayme Wood
  • New Hanover High School, Elizabeth Felts
  • M. C. S. Noble Middle School, Leslie Keegan
  • Ogden Elementary School, Caroline Page
  • Walter L. Parsley Elementary School, Breanna Lodato
  • Pine Valley Elementary School, Mallory Neidenthal
  • JC Roe Center, Tarkisha Jones
  • Roland-Grise Middle School, Myisha Hutchinson
  • Southeast Area Technical High School, Christa Tompkins
  • Snipes Academy of Arts and Design, Angela Owen
  • Sunset Park Elementary, Alice Carney
  • Emma B. Trask Middle School, Kimberly Burghardt
  • Mary C. Williams Elementary School, Ashley Pavlick 
  • Williston Middle School, Molly McGowan
  • Wilmington Early College High School, Jamie Troche
  • Winter Park Elementary School, Jessica McQueen
  • Wrightsboro Elementary School, Cindy Laliberty
  • Wrightsville Beach Elementary School, Kim Golder
NHCS's Principal of the Year nominees are:
  • Edwin A. Alderman Elementary School, Kate Tayloe
  • Southeast Area Technical High School, Edith Skipper
  • Snipes Academy of Arts and Design, Rachel Manning
  • Winter Park Elementary School, Paul Slovik
Ico insights


Tommytaylor ceo unitedway

If Not Now, When?

Tommy Taylor - United Way
Mike stonestreet 300x300

Board Member Boot Camp Part 2: Compliance, ARC, And Pitfalls To Avoid

Mike Stonestreet - CAMS (Community Association Management Services)
Atromitos micheallegady headshot

The Business Case For Medicaid Expansion – 3 Reasons Business Leaders Should Support Medicaid Expansion

Michealle Gady - Atromitos

Trending News

Feds Investigating NCino Employment Practices Under Antitrust Laws

Cece Nunn - Feb 25, 2021

'Just Enough': Bar Owners React To First Indoor Drinking Allowed Since Pandemic Began

Cece Nunn - Feb 25, 2021

Craftspace Aims To Raise Up To $150K Through Crowdfunding Campaign

Christina Haley O'Neal - Feb 24, 2021

At Mayfaire, Local Store Expands Into Former New York & Company Space

Cece Nunn - Feb 25, 2021

WilmingtonBiz Talk: Booming Housing Market

Cece Nunn - Feb 25, 2021

In The Current Issue

Watercraft Handcrafted In Wilmington

Cape Fear Catamarans on U.S. 421 customizes, designs and builds aluminum boats....

During Pandemic, State Parks Fill Up

People, parks and a pandemic made a strong combination for North Carolina state parks last year, with a record number of visi­tors taking ad...

Downtown Momentum

In a transformative time for downtown Wilmington, the organization tasked with economic development efforts there is rethinking its mission...

Book On Business

The 2021 WilmingtonBiz: Book on Business is an annual publication showcasing the Wilmington region as a center of business.

Order Your Copy Today!



Trying to Grow a Business?
2020 Health Care Heroes
2020 WilmingtonBiz 100